LA NOIRE : Vol 1 – Have Mercy Uncle Sam
Album Vol 1 – Have Mercy Uncle Sam
Format Vinyl 12'' LP
Label Rocket Records
Year 2014
Genre Roots, Blues n Roll, Gospel, Rock n Roll

LA NOIRE : Vol 1 – Have Mercy Uncle Sam

A rollicking set of classic and should-be classic tunes on Chess, King, Fame, Jubilee and other iconic labels – plus some comparably rare gems – all in touch with the bluesy roots, and laying the groundwork for the soul scenes to come! This first La Noire compilation has one killer tune after another, many from that pivotal early 60s period when the influences of the grander rhtyhm & blues orchestras of the preceding decade were finding their way into a stripped down to the bare essentials sound – with crack rhythm sections, tight horns, and masterful vocals. Includes tracks by solo legends like Bobby Bland and Koko Taylor, the tight group sounds of The Spellbinders, The X-Cellents, and much more. Great stuff!

Tracklist :

Side A :
01. Guitar Red - Just You And I
02. Dell Mack - You Can't Judge A Book By The Cover
03. Bobby Bland - Don't Cry No More
04. Johnny (Guitar) Watson - Broke And Lonely
05. Little Daddy Walton & Son - Highway Blues
06. Jimmy Hughes - Neighbor, Neighbor
07. Billy Boy - I Wish I Would
08. Tarheel Slim And Little Ann Can't Stay Away From You
Side B :
01. Big Jay Mc Neely And Band, Little Sonny Warner - Psycho Serenade
02. The X-Cellents - Hey Little Willie
03. The Spellbinders - Casting My Spell
04. June Bateman, Noble Watts And His Band - Possum Belly Overalls
05. Koko Taylor - Wang Dang Doodle
06. Ernest Tucker - Have Mercy Uncle Sam
07. Billy Bland - UncleBud
08. Louisiana Red - Ride On Red, Ride On


Rockin' merchandise :

Stay Updated :

Newsletter :

© 2018 Drunkabilly records | Running strong since 1988
All prices are VAT included, shipping costs excluded.