BOB WAYNE : Bad Hombre
Album Bad Hombre
Format CD
Label ply
Year 2017
Genre Outlaw Country Rock n Roll, Alt. Country

BOB WAYNE : Bad Hombre

The last few years have been nothing, but the usual wild ride for BOB WAYNE with numerous shows throughout Europe, North America and Brazil that didn’t just have him play festivals such as Ramblin’ Man Fair (UK), Speedfest (NL), or even the legendary Wacken Open Air (DE), but also saw him supporting The BossHoss on sold out arena shows in Germany in 2016. After releasing “Hits The Hits”, an album with cover versions of some of the world’s biggest hits, the singer, songwriter, storyteller and nomad is back to telling his own stories on his new album “Bad Hombre“ some of which drew influences from meeting people while he is doing what means the most to him: Being out on the road, traveling to distant places, going to many remote little towns and villages throughout the world, playing live and meeting the most diverse people. He is telling everyday stories from ordinary men and women that often go unnoticed like in “Devil’s Backbone” which is not just a clever title, it’s actually the name of the region in Alabama where Bob met and became friends with some of the characters of this true story. “80 Miles To Baghdad” is a song BOB WAYNE wrote after meeting and hearing the traumatizing story of a war veteran after a gig that shows that there is no glory in war. “Take Back The USA” starts off asking the listener to turn off his or her TV and cell phone, and go outside to take a breath of life. Then it breaks into a very hillbilly-esque chorus about having a "coup d'état all day long - yeehaw". Due to the current political climate we asked Bob to comment on this song and he had this to say: "I strongly believe that music can hold a very strong healing energy, and my music is written to take you out of your own mind and go on an adventure with me through lyrics and melody... Oh and some shredding banjos and fiddles of course, haha. Nothing on a BOB WAYNE record should ever be taken seriously, they are just stories, just as I'm sure Johnny Cash didn't really kill a woman and spend his life in Folsom Prison. It’s the same, I know Johnny would never condone that or want that to happen, they are stories meant to entertain people and that's it! So just in case anybody from security hears this song: It’s just a joke, haha. I have no plans in starting a coup d'état, it's actually just a song that I'm practicing my French speaking skills in, a country that I love dearly." - “Kiss My Ass God Bless The USA” is about an evening that Bob accidentally drinks moonshine mixed with other substances and ends up in a drug induced 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' style ride through Texas. “The song actually has absolutely nothing to do with the USA other than the fact it was written there and the drunk Bob yells it out at the end of the chorus.” - “Mr. Bandana“ is dedicated to a late friend of BOB WAYNE’s: “We were driving down the road one day and he looked at me and said: ‘I never should have crossed the Mason-Dixon Line.’ and it stuck with me.” Let’s add a pinch of dark romance with “Fairground In The Sky”, a bitter-sweet duet featuring the wonderful voice of Nashville's Kristina Murray. But make no mistake, there is always a twist in BOB WAYNE’s tales: It’s a song about a couple making a deal with the devil for success and in the end they have to pay with their lives. Still, we wouldn’t be listening to a BOB WAYNE album if it didn’t feature outlaw country anthems such as “Hell Yeah” or “Hangin Tree”. “Still Truckin” might sound like a hymn to life on the road at first, while it was actually a song Bob wrote for his musical hero Red Simpson who had many truck driving hits in the 1960's. Simpson was due to record the song but sadly passed away early in 2016, so Bob decided to bring the song to life himself in Red Simpson’s honor. At the end of the day “Bad Hombre” is a collection of anthems for the lost, the forgotten and the outcasts that shows a lot of love for ordinary and diverse people. We are all facing the same issues and problems, no matter where BOB WAYNE meets us along the way in some godforsaken place during one of his many ventures. “Bad Hombre” truly captures the art of BOB WAYNE’s story telling that we have come to love over the years. Yet again the spirit of freedom in the music was captured by Andy Gibson who produced, engineered and mixed the album at his home studio in Nashville, TN where BOB WAYNE was joined by his bunch of Outlaw Carnies to track “Bad Hombre”. So saddle up your horses, folks, and get ready for another good ride with BOB WAYNE through 2017 as the “Bad Hombre” hits the road! YEEEEHAW!


Tracklist :

01. Hell Yeah
02. Mr. Bandana
03. Still Truckin
04. 420 Bound
05. Hangin Tree
06. Take Back the USA
07. The Last Breath You Take
08. Fairground in the Sky
09. Devil's Backbone
10. Kiss My Ass God Bless the USA
11. 80 Miles from Baghdad
12. Working Class Musician
13. Wake Me Up

Buy Rockin' Merchandise

Beltbuckles  |  Handbags  |  Patches  |  Scarfs  |  Stickers  |  Sweaters  |  Tiki  |  T-Shirts  |  Wallet Chains

Stay Updated :

Newsletter :

© 2023 Drunkabilly records | Running strong since 1988
All prices are VAT included, shipping costs excluded.