IN BELGIUM THEY CALL IT POPCORN! : 30 Original Popcorn Classics on 2 CDs
Album 30 Original Popcorn Classics on 2 CDs
Format CD Double
Label not now
Year 2017
Genre Popcorn, early R&B, Instro

IN BELGIUM THEY CALL IT POPCORN! : 30 Original Popcorn Classics on 2 CDs

We all know popcorn as a sweet and salty confectionery made from maize that is sold in cinemas.
But it also gave rise to an R&B instrumental, The Popcorn, written by James Brown in 1969. Around that time, a new form of party music developing in Belgium was named ‘Popcorn’ after the James Brown hits.
Rather like Northern Soul in Wigan, it relied on disc jockeys, notably Gilbert Govaert, unearthing black soul singles from the early 1960s. Northern Soul favoured up-tempo tracks and Popcorn smoochier ones, which prompted a ‘slow swing’ dance.
Enjoy this 2CD compilation including Timi Yuro, The Pentagons, Ben E. King and many more.

Tracklist :

Disc 1:
01. I Ain't Gonna Cry No More : Timi Yuro
02. Fever : Ben E. King
03. Tremblin' : Birdie Green
04. Drums In My Heart : Dee Clark
05. Two Winters Long : Irma Thomas
06. There She Goes : The Cleftones
07. See What Tomorrow Brings : Cicero Blake
08. You Threw A Lucky Punch : Gene Chandler
09. Getting Ready For The Heartbreak : Chuck Jackson
10. Fly By Night : Varetta
11. To Be Loved By You : Marie Knight
12. Let Love Go By : Jeanette ‘Baby’ Washington
13. Let Her Go : Gene Stridel
14. Girl Of The World : The Lions
15. No Love (Like Your Love) : McKinley Mitchell
Disc 2:
01. I Wonder (If Your Love Will Ever Belong To Me) : The Pentagons
02. In Between Tears : Chuck Jackson
03. Take All Of My Life : Carrie Grant & The Grandeurs
04. Don't Do This To Me : Cicero Blake
05. You Beat Me To The Punch : Mary Wells
06. Poor Millionaire : Tommy Hunt
07. I'll Love You Til The Cows Come Home : Clyde McPhatter
08. How Could I Help But Love You : Aaron Neville
09. I Let Myself Go : Geraldine Hunt
10. Chills And Fever : Ronnie Love
11. Any Way You Wanta : Harvey Fuqua
12. First Love Baby : Lena Calhoun
13. Just A Little Bit Of Everything : Herb Hardesty
14. Let Me Be Your Boy : Wilson Pickett
15. Love Me Right : Lavern Baker


Rockin' merchandise :

Stay Updated :

Newsletter :

© 2019 Drunkabilly records | Running strong since 1988
All prices are VAT included, shipping costs excluded.