GAZ'S ROCKIN BLUES : 40Th Ann. Special
Album 40Th Ann. Special
Format Vinyl 12'' Double LP
Label Stag-O-Lee
Year 2021
Genre Roots Rock'n Roll, Rockin Gospell, Roots Jamiaca Ska!

GAZ'S ROCKIN BLUES : 40Th Ann. Special

Coming on DOUBLE-LP is the sixth compilation in the DJ-set series compiled by cult DJ Gay Mayall. The choice of music in this particular selection contains two fundamental styles of rhythm and blues oriented boogie music that influenced the world. The post war era of black dance music was driven by R&B that was the inspiration for the rock'n'roll of the 1950's. Here you have a hardcore slice of black rock'n'roll and a side of rockin' early '50s R&B, it's precursor on one platter. On the next disc you'll hear a bunch of moving, exciting and at times frenzied '50s gospel. The idiom where most R&B and black rock'n'roll and soul stars learned their art and cut their teeth. Side 4 contains a bunch of Jamaican tunes to illustrate the role Jamaica's music has played in influencing the style and direction of 'Gaz's Rockin Blues'. These tracks are drawn from the very earliest days, at the inception of ska in the late '50s when Jamaican artists, having fallen in love with US R&B, created their own take on


Tracklist :

Side 1 (Rock'n'Roll) :
01. Little Richard : Long Tall Sally
02. Cledus Harrison : Rock And Roll In The Groove
03. Screamin' Joe Neal : Rock And Roll Deacon
04. Pretty Boy : Bip Bop Bip
05. Jackie Brenston : My Real Gone Rocket
06. Dave Bartholomew : Can't Take It No More
07. James Brown : Chonnie-On-Chon
Side 2 (Rhythm & Blues) :
01. Lowell Fulson : Don't Drive Me Baby
02. Jimmy Witherspoon : Don't Ever Move A Woman Into Your House
03. Brownie McGhee : I'm 10,000 Years Old
04. Clarence Gatemouth Brown : You Got Money
05. Bob Gaddy : Slow Down Baby
06. Floyd Dixon : Hey, Bartender
07. Sonny Knight : But Officer
Side 3 (Gospel) : 01. The Flying Clouds : I've Got A Right To The Tree of Life
02. Sensational Nightingales : To The End
03. The Pilgrim Travelers : Hold On
04. The Gospel Clefs : By The Waters Of Babylon
05. Brother Joe May : It Doesn't Cost Very Much
06. Bessie Griffin : More Like Jesus
07. Archie Brownlee : In The Wilderness
Side 4 (Jamaica) :
01. Owen Gray : Let Me Go Free
02. Count Ossie Afro Combo : Cassavubu
03. Rico's Combo : Gee's Boogie
04. The Blues Busters : Little Vilma
05. The Moonlighters : I Need Your Love
06. Theophilus Beckford : Now You're Dead
07. Duke Reid And His Group : Pink Lane Shuffle

Buy Rockin' Merchandise

Beltbuckles  |  Handbags  |  Patches  |  Scarfs  |  Stickers  |  Sweaters  |  Tiki  |  T-Shirts  |  Wallet Chains

Stay Updated :

Newsletter :

© 2023 Drunkabilly records | Running strong since 1988
All prices are VAT included, shipping costs excluded.